On Brunei’s Sharia Law

Others have begun to note Brunei’s implementation of Sharia (see my earlier article here or here). Among them are entertainers Ellen DeGeneres and Stephen Fry, who are organizing a boycott of ten luxury hotels owned by the Sultan and his family: The Dorchester, The Beverly Hills Hotel, Plaza Athénée, Hotel Meurice, Principe di Savoia, Hotel Bel-Air, Coworth Park, 45 Park Lane, Le Richemond and Hotel Eden.

I know they’re entirely well meaning and I applaud and support the effort.

But Ms. DeGeneres’s tweet, “I won’t be visiting the Hotel Bel-Air or the Beverly Hills Hotel until this is resolved” – somehow, I don’t know, it just doesn’t strike me as fighting fire with fire.

You know what though? I’ll show ’em. Neither will I!

One thought on “On Brunei’s Sharia Law

  1. Pingback: On Brunei’s Sharia Law | Everything TravelsEverything Travels

Leave a Reply

