Look Inside Out in the Cold

After a title goes live on Amazon, as Out in the Cold did last week, it takes a few days for the “Look Inside” feature to appear. From this morning “Look Inside” is live on Amazon, giving you the chance to get a more extensive preview of what you’ll be buying. I am not sure whether “Look Inside” grabs more of a book’s text over time, but right now we have some of the beginning available and some of my reporting on Iceland. We’ll have to watch and find out. Still, I invite you to use the feature to see more of what’s inside Out in the Cold. Then, grab yourself a copy.

2 thoughts on “Look Inside Out in the Cold

  1. Looks great, sounds so intriguing. I’ve added it to my Amazon list for my next purchase. (Fwiw, I’m someone who does use the “look inside” feature sometimes, and I like that your other two titles are one of the first things I see ; somehow, having them staring me boldly in the face puts me in awe of the adventures and tempts me to get “Common Sense” too!)

    Like

    • Well first, I appreciate your (future) purchase. And second, on adventures, I say go for it. We’ve all heard that older folks say they regret the things they didn’t do more than things they did. So as I say in this book’s preface,

      Let us all think of a place that sounds exciting, take ourselves there and see what happens, minding Nelson Mandela’s words: May our choices reflect our hopes and not our fears.

      Imagine a range of actions: At one extreme, you never leave your house, and at the other you drive into Somalia honking your horn and waving an American flag. I like it just inside the go-too-far side of that tent, poking on the fabric with a dull knife, trying not quite hard enough to cut through.

      Within reason, mind you. Cut through the fabric and you end up kidnapped in Niamey, blasted in two in Helmand or beheaded in the new Caliphate. So let us stick with adventure reasonably achievable. In this case, starting 800 miles shy of the North Pole, chasing a total eclipse.

      Cheers,

      Bill

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

